Access Keys:

St MacNissi's Primary School, Larne

Foundation Stage

The first two years in school – Primary 1 and 2 are known as the Foundation Stage.

There are three Key Stages within the Primary School:
Years 1 & 2 are Foundation Stage
Years 3 & 4 are Key Stage 1
Years 5-7 are Key Stage 2

There are six Areas of Learning for each of the Key Stages:

Language and Literacy (including talking and listening, reading and writing and opportunities to incorporate drama);

Mathematics and Numeracy (focusing on the development of mathematical concepts and numeracy across the curriculum);

The Arts (including art and design, music and opportunities to incorporate drama);

The World Around Us (focusing on the development of skills and knowledge in geography, history and science and technology);

Personal Development and Mutual Understanding (focusing on emotional development, social skills, learning to learn, health, relationships and sexuality education, understanding in the local and global community);

Physical Education (focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding through play and a range of physical activities).

It is in essence a child centred approach – enabling a flexible programme, in which individual needs can be more appropriately met. There will be an ethos and explicit teaching which will seek to develop children’s confidence, self esteem and independence.

The key teaching and learning tool is play. It is through play that children learn best. In our school we plan play-based leaning carefully, as we recognise how important it is in the life of a young child.

We have a variety of resources and we regularly add more. We are also aware of the skills which are developed through play activities.